Coffee, Economics, Problems to Solve, Thinking, Wisdom

Matter Over Money

Well, it’s time to save money. I don’t know why, but I feel the need to recollect my thoughts on spending. This is not a blog about my personal finances, but in my mind, there’s this instinct to save now that wasn’t there before.

I suppose someone could say it’s because the economy is rocking the bottom rung, but that isn’t the entire truth. I think it’s because I’d like to save my money for things like a good get-away or simply repair the roof of my home (though I think we still have a few years for that). 

Another sign of maturity as I get older is the slowing down of that desire to want things that have no bearing on just living. Food might be considered a necessity, for example. But, going out to nice restaurants is not. Other small things seem to take on a greater value since I don’t want to spend as much as I used to. Coffee… I take the free stuff from the conference room whenever I can, whereas in the past I would go to the corner Starbucks in the hospital.

So, what am I saying? I guess I’m saying that I’m feeling the pinch! It’s hitting me. Oh, and that gasoline price hovering around $4/gallon don’t help none.

Standard

One thought on “Matter Over Money

  1. TheOthers1 says:

    I think everyone is feeling it lately. I try to cut out extraneous spending, but it’s hard. While I’m not extravagant, I do find that I like to spend. I need to curb that habit. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

