Academia, Career, Missions, Spinal Cord Injury

Academic Attitudes In Science

Cold. Emotionless.

It sounds cynical, maybe. Recently, I’ve been conversing with various colleagues in the field. I would say that the majority of the conversations move in the direction of career dilemas or job security.

While I totally understand the need to achieve and accomplish in one’s career, there is that guiding whisper inside my head that says there’s more to this than financial or personal gain, ego or otherwise.

This is what I want to say, but find my voice silenced by my own, shall we call it, weakness. So in my head I know: “there is a real human medical disease out there that needs a cure or treatment.”

Yes, our pay is low. Our position in the institution is uncertain.

But, I would like to remind myself and other academic scientists who study real diseases that we have opportunities to learn and share something. We should take joy in these exciting challenges that few can meet.

My education was a privilege, not a right. I was not entitled to get my PhD. I choose and worked hard and I think that I was only able to do so because I was given much.

I would like to walk forward in my job with the full measure of the knowledge that I’m doing the right thing. And not just for me, but because in the greater scheme of things, I was designed to do this job. To search for answers, because I was given the mindset and hands to do so.

Standard

Leave a Reply

